KNOWLEDGE                   CONCEPTS                   SKILLS                        ATTITUDES                ACTION

The Primary Years Programme (PYP) written curriculum incorporates five essential elements of learning: understanding of concepts, the acquisition of essential knowledge and skills, the development of positive attitudes and the opportunity for positive actions. The IB identifies a body of knowledge for all students in six subject areas: language, social studies, mathematics, arts, science and technology, and personal, social and physical education, all meet the IB PYP strands and American standards of learning.

The 5 essential elements in the PYP maintain the balance between acquisition of knowledge and skills, development of conceptual understandings, demonstrate of positive attitudes and taking responsible action.


There are eight fundamental concepts, expressed as key questions, which propel the process of inquiry and help to encourage a transdisciplinary nature of the PYP. These concepts drive the research within the units of inquiry which teachers and students design. The concepts are the following:

Form: What is it like?

Function: How does it work?

Causation: Why is it like it is?

Change: How is it changing?

Connection: How is it connected to other things?

Perspective: What are the points of view?

Responsibility: What is our responsibility?

Reflection: How do we know?

IBO School's Guide to The Primary Years Programme (


There are five sets of transdisciplinary skills acquired in the process of inquiry. These are:

The PYP promotes attitudes that we want our NIC students to feel, value and demonstrate.


The PYP promotes attitudes that we want our NIC students to feel, value and demonstrate.

Appreciation: Appreciating the wonder and beauty of the world and its people.

Commitment: Being committed to their own learning, persevering and showing self-discipline and responsibility.

Confidence: Feeling confident in their ability as learners, having the courage to take risks, applying what they have learned and making appropriate decisions and choices.

Cooperation: Cooperating, collaborating, and leading or following as the situation demands.

Creativity: Being creative and imaginative in their thinking and in their approach to problems and dilemmas.

Curiosity: Being curious about the nature of learning, about the world, its people and cultures.

Empathy: Imagining themselves in another’s situation in order to understand his or her reasoning and emotions, so as to be open-minded and reflective about the perspectives of others.

Enthusiasm: Enjoying learning and willingly putting the effort into the process.

Independence: Thinking and acting independently, making their own judgments based on reasoned argument, and being able to defend their judgments.

Integrity: Being honest and demonstrating a considered sense of fairness.

Respect: Respecting themselves, others and the world around them.

Tolerance: Being sensitive about differences and diversity in the world and being responsive to the needs of others.


NIC students are encouraged to reflect, to make informed choices and to take action that will help peers, school staff and the wider community.


The Primary Years Programme identifies a body of significant knowledge for a students in all cultures, in six principal subject areas: language, social studies, mathematics, science and technology, the arts, personal, social and physical education.Subject knowledge should be integrated using the six transdisciplinary themes of the curriculum model.